4Jesus Outreach

Preaching and Teaching the Truth of God's Word.

Prayer – A key multiplication tool

Leave a comment

Felicity Dale

Accountability can make you do some crazy things.

Two weeks ago, the house church that meets in our home discussed accountability. In order to make it practical, I challenged everyone to try and pray with someone, preferably who doesn’t know the Lord [Jesus] during the week, and said that we would report back the next time we came together.

Big mistake! Having challenged everyone, I now needed to live up to it too. Since I live the life of a writer, most of my time is spent with just me and my computer. There was no obvious situation where I would come across someone new, so I brainstormed.

I put an ad on Craigslist. “Do you need prayer?”: no response. I responded to some tweets that said, “I need prayer” or “I need God”: no response.

Finally, a couple of days before we were due to meet again, I received a sales call from someone at an online pet pharmacy. Our dogs needed some more flea and tick meds, so I placed my order. The lady at the other end was just saying goodbye when I interrupted her. “Before you leave, is there anything I can pray for you. I believe that God answers prayer.”

She broke down. She told me something I could pray about and I prayed for over the phone. It turned out she was a Christian. As we said goodbye, she said, “I’ll never forget you!”

When our group came back together, everyone had a story of how they had deliberately prayed for someone. No one they approached had refused prayer; everyone was very grateful.

Would we have done it without the knowledge that we would be asked to report back? I don’t think I would have done so. Prayer and accountability is a key tool in multiplication.


Practical activity:
Give your group a challenge. Maybe challenge them to pray with someone, or to tell their story to a not-yet-believer. The important thing is that you follow up with it.

 –         Felicity Dale, www.SimplyChurch.com

REAL JESUS MINISTRIES
www.RealJesus.net
RealJesusMinistries@gmail.com

Author: Luis Josephus

Luis Josephus is founder and director of 4JESUS OUTREACH, a non-sectarian (i.e. non-denominational) outreach dedicated to proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ. For more inspirational messages and biblical resources, visit our website at: www.4JesusOutreach.com

Leave a Reply

