4Jesus Outreach

Preaching and Teaching the Truth of God's Word.

Columbus – A Messianic Jew?

Leave a comment

Questions & Answers

Questions & Answers

Hello Brother Luis…I heard something today that I thought was interesting and I thought perhaps you might have heard something about it. I heard and saw evidence that Christopher Columbus was actually a Messianic Jew who hid his Jewish identity because of the inquisition. Do you know anything about that? – Donna, Missouri.

– – – – – – – – – –

Yes I do. In fact, I believe it is true. If it is, I am of Jewish ancestry since my ancestors migrated to Cuba from Spain. My last name is also of Jewish origin. During the voyages of Christopher Columbus, thousands of Spanish Jews escaped on Columbus’ ships. The Roman Catholic Inquisition in Spain was in full force – imprisoning, torturing, and killing Jews who refused to convert to Catholicism. I wrote a teaching message about this. You can click on the link below to read it.

Was Christopher Columbus Jewish?
https://yehudafm.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/was-christopher-columbus-jewish

Here is an excerpt: “I recently came across the following article on the Spanish website http://www.Semana.com. This reliable editorial details the latest revelations on the true ancestry of Christopher Columbus (Cristóbal Colón) and the primary motivation behind the discovery of The Americas. It further confirms my own Jewish ancestry that dates back to the migration of Spanish Jews to the island of Cuba and Hispaniola on board the voyages of Columbus. Here are some highlights of these recent revelations…”

Keep in mind that I don’t like to use the term “Messianic Jew.” This term is a modern invention of the Messianic movement. I prefer to simply call them “Jewish believers,” since God’s Word rebukes sectarianism (i.e. denominational labels) which divide the Body of Christ (see 1 Corinthians 1:12-13)

“What I mean is this: One of you says, “I follow Paul”; another, “I follow Apollos”; another, “I follow Cephas”; still another, “I follow Christ. Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized into the name of Paul?

I encourage you to do your own study on these subjects and ask the Holy Spirit to give you further revelation.

Blessings in Messiah,

Pastor Luis Yosefus
REAL JESUS MINISTRIES
www.RealJesus.net

– – – – – – –

Thank you so much for your feedback. I think this is a fascinating find.
I recently started writing a Christian Blog myself. Right now I am going through a study on First Corinthians. Go to:
http://howmyspiritsings.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/the-called-out-part-1/

– Donna, Missouri

Author: Luis Josephus

Luis Josephus is founder and director of 4JESUS OUTREACH, a non-sectarian (i.e. non-denominational) outreach dedicated to proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ. For more inspirational messages and biblical resources, visit our website at: www.4JesusOutreach.com

Leave a Reply

